Hengoed Viaduct, South Wales

Hengoed Viaduct, South Wales
“A prominent landscape feature spanning the Rhymney valley between Maesycwmmer and Hengoed.”
Hengoed viaduct was constructed in 1857 as part of the Taff Vale Railway. Made up of 16 arches, each 40 feet in span and measuring 284 yards in length, it crosses the river Rhymney and two railway lines (1). It’s a majestic structure towering over its surroundings, now designated the Maesycwmmer Conservation Area. The structure is Grade II* listed as a major monument of railway engineering on a rare route which runs across the valleys, and one of the oldest surviving viaducts of its type.
The line stopped carrying passengers in 1958 and closed altogether in 1964, after which little maintenance took place, allowing the site and structure to fall into disrepair. In 1998 the viaduct was acquired by Railway Paths, worked started in 1999 and a path was constructed to reopen it to the public.
Major conservation works followed including structural works, lighting, safety fencing and viewing platforms, preserving the high level station, and work around ecology, landscape and interpretation.
This work was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund, Cadw, EU Objective 1, Railway Heritage Trust and others as part of the Celtic Trail Project to provide a continuous National Cycle Network route (routes 4 and 47) across South Wales from Fishguard and Chepstow, completed in 2008.



